Many Indian American High School Students Among 2022 US Presidential Scholars

You are currently viewing Many Indian American High School Students Among 2022 US Presidential Scholars

U.S. Secretary of Education Dr. He is among 161 Indian-American high school students elected to the 58th class of US Presidential Scholars, announced by Miguel Cardona on May 12. Scholars are selected annually by the White House’s Presidential Scholars Commission. academic achievement, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

“Our 2022 Presidential Scholars represent America’s best and remind us that there are no limits to what our youth can achieve when empowered by education,” Cardona said in a press release by the U.S. Department of Education. “Today, I join President Biden to celebrate a class of academics whose quest for knowledge, generosity of spirit, and exceptional talents have brought tremendous pride to our nation. During one of the most challenging times in our nation’s history and in the midst of our recovery from the pandemic, our students once again demonstrated their strength and that they have much to add to our country. Thanks to them, I know America’s future is bright.”

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most outstanding high school graduates. In 1979 the program was expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was expanded again to reward students who demonstrate aptitude and achievement in career and technical education.

Indian American scientists include:


Salil Naik, Mountain Ridge High School, Glendale


Reva Srivastava, Mission San Jose High School, Fremont


Rishika Kartik, St. Mary’s Academy High School, Highlands Ranch


Aditya Kabra, East Lyme High School, Niantic

Maya Prafulla Shah Palanki, Conard High School, West Hartford


Arjan Singh Kahlon, Wilmington, Hockessin Charter School

Sreeya Pittala, Newark Charter Middle/Senior High, Newark


Sandhya Kumar, Lawton Chiles High School, Tallahassee


Ayush G. Gundawar, South Forsyth High School, Cumming


Jui Khankari, Hinsdale County High School Central, Oak Brook

Rishi Patel, Waubonsie Valley High School, Naperville

Jaisnav Rajesh, Waubonsie Valley High School, Naperville

Piya Shah, Waubonsie Valley High School, Naperville


Kavya Kalathur, Pleasant Valley Community High School, Bettendorf


Shekhar Kumar Gugnani, Fort Scott High School, Fort Scott

Gauri Yadav, Olathe North High School, Overland Park


Ashini Modi, Caddo Parish Magnet High School, Shreveport


Sirohi G. Kumar, Mount Desert Island High School, Bar Harbor


Dhruv Bhandarkar Pai, Montgomery Blair High School, Potomac


Dedeepya Guthikonda, Edina High School, Minneapolis

see also


Dia Chawla, Pillow Academy, Greenwood

north carolina

Dheepthi Mohanraj, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Chapel Hill


Aishwarya Swamidurai, Classen School of Advanced Studies, Oklahoma City


Adamya Aggarwal, Haverford School, Bryn Mawr


Siddh Bamb, Academy of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Austin


Malavika G Singh, West High School, Salt Lake City


Sriram Sethuraman, South Burlington High School, South Burlington


Uma Pillai, Potomac Falls High School, Potomac Falls


Ananya Krishna, James Madison Memorial High School, Verona