Disney+ Obi-Wan Kenobi release date and time Confirmed

You are currently viewing Disney+ Obi-Wan Kenobi release date and time Confirmed


Return to a galaxy far, far away by watching the Obi-Wan Kenobi series on Disney Plus, starring Ewan McGregor as the Jedi knight in hiding. Hayden Christensen also returns to the Star Wars universe as Anakin Skywalker, Kenobi’s former apprentice, Darth Vader.

McGregor portrayed Obi-Wan Kenobi, a younger version of Alex Guinness’s character in the original Star Wars films, in the prequel trilogy. The series has been in development on Disney Plus for years under the direction of writer/director Deborah Chow, who directed both episodes of The Mandalorian.

The series takes place ten years after Revenge of the Sith, or roughly nine years before Episode IV: A New Hope. Most of the Jedi have been killed by the Empire, but a few are in hiding. Kenobi is one of them, and he chose Tatooine to keep an eye on young Luke Skywalker. However, Vader leads a group of dark-side Force users known as the Inquisitors in their hunt for the remaining Jedi, with a particular focus on his former master. Learn more about the Obi-Wan Kenobi cast and characters in our Obi-Wan Kenobi character guide.

Obi-Wan
Photo: Lucasfilm

Obi-Wan Kenobi’s Disney+ release date and time

Obi-Wan Kenobi will make his Disney+ debut on Friday, May 27, 2022 at midnight US Pacific Time.

The series was supposed to arrive on May 25, 45 years after A New Hope aired, but that date was pushed back to May 27, two days later.

The new series, like most Disney+ broadcasts, will premiere simultaneously worldwide, which means:

  • 12:00 PT in the USA
  • 3 a.m. ET in the US
  • 8am BST in England
  • 9:00 CEST in Europe
  • 12:30 pm IST in India
  • 17:00 AEST in Sydney, Australia

This means that fans in the United States may have to stay up late if they want to watch the show as soon as it airs, while Australian viewers can watch it at their leisure in the evening.

How many chapters are there in total?

Six chapters will be devoted to Obi-Wan Kenobi. Compared to other live-action Star Wars franchises on Disney+, The Mandalorian, and The Book of Boba Fett, Obi-Wan Kenobi is the shortest entry ever.

To make up for its short length, Star Wars fans will be able to watch the first two episodes in one sitting, as both Episodes 1 and 2 will be released on May 27.

Obi-Wan Kenobi’s return on Wednesday after its first Friday release means that Disney+ will overlap with one of the MCU series, Ms Marvel, which will launch on June 8.

As Disney+ flooded with new shows, a conflicting stream was inevitable, but it will be interesting to see how the release schedule impacts both shows.

Source: HITC

Ankita Khanrah

Disney+ Obi-Wan Kenobi release date and time ConfirmedDisney Obi Wan Kenobi release date and time Confirmed Disney+ Obi-Wan Kenobi release date and time Confirmed

Ankita Khanrah is a sophomore student of the Master of Communications and Journalism (Integrated) program at KIIT Deemed University School of Mass Communication, Bhubaneswar.